Pros and cons of enrolling in a graphic design online class

Hope you had a great Labor’s day week-end! Mine was busy and gave me plenty of ideas for next blog posts.  Here’s my next one about the pros and cons about enrolling in an online class.

***

As I’ve been following a graphic design online classes for 7 months, now, I realized that even thought they are many advantages, they are also some disadvantage you need to consider before enrolling  in a class.

Pros
Time-saving.
You don’t need to take your car or public transportation to get to your class. You just log in and voilà!
Money-saving.
Online classes are usually less expensive. Not to mention what you save on lunch, transportation and even clothing.
You don’t have to dress up!
I don’t know for you, but when I have a 8:30am class, not having to dress up sure is a plus! A comfy pyjama will be your new best friend.

Cons
Software or computer problems.
Since this is quite new, there sometimes happens some software problem. At once, my brand-new computer screen wouldn’t work. This made me loose all the advance I had in class.
Procrastination.
From the internet to your cat and just regular life, it will be hard not to be distracted. You need to fight hard against theses regular distractions.
No real-life exchange between student & teacher.
I  do miss the regular social school life. Sure, you can communicate by voice, but there’s something missing when you don’t see facial expressions.
One funny thing you will notice happening is how you can “visualize” the other students and teacher when they are talking. :-p

For me, it was mostly a question of time and money saving. But you need to have a good self-discipline AND to be curious. It made me search for online tutorials and blogs about my domain when I couldn’t get help from my teacher or from the other students. It made me very independant and I’ve learned a lot from this way.

It also gave me a greatest confidence in my talent and intelligence. So far, I’m doing good and am taking it one step at a time. I haven’t been in school for a long time, so if I can do this, who knows what else I can do. And I am sure it will be the same for you. 🙂

2 Responses to “Pros and cons of enrolling in a graphic design online class”


  1. 1 Talia September 9, 2009 at 9:08 pm

    SO crazy that you wrote this post, cause I’ve just been looking at doing some sort of graphic design online! Thanks for the pro/con list- it’s really helpful!

  2. 2 Fanie September 10, 2009 at 10:15 am

    I’m more than glad my list helped you, Talia. 🙂
    I hope you’ll find a good online class to start your studies. Go, go! You can do it!


Leave a Reply

Art vs Craft.net is the blog where arts & crafts are no longer fighting!
It's about illustration, crafts & related events.

My name is Fanie and I’m a Montreal based illustrator & graphic designer. You may know me from drawing The Crafty Life comic in CLM. I ♥ comics, vegan food & ghost stories.

Add to Google
Bookmark and Share

My Flickr


