Halloween serie: How to make sparkly shoes

This year, I’ve decided to go as Dorothy from the Wizard of Oz. I was lucky enough to find a very similar blue dress at a local thrift store. As for the top, I already had a white short-sleeves medieval blouse from this Renaissance Etsy shop, Fairest of them all.

The only thing missing was the famous ruby shoes.
I could have bought a pair from The wizard of oz costume shop (Yes, there’s an entire online shop dedicated to Wizard of oz costumes!) , but I had a budjet and didn’t want to spend too much.

So I got a vintage pair of marine shoes, from the same thrift store, that looked very much like Dorothy’s shoes except for it’s color.

The outside of the shoe is fabric, so I decided to paint them with Pebeo’s Setacolor paint for fabrics.

When it dried, I set the color with an iron. Not an easy task as shoes are not straight like fabric. There is probably a better way to do this (or other product to use). So if you know, it’d be nice if you could tell me. :-p

Then, I bought a bunch of red craft glitter and mixed it with the amazing Modge Podge glue.

The consistent of the glue was more “glitter with Modge Podge” rather than the other way around. :-p Repeat as needed.

Once it dried , I re-applied a second coat of Modge Podge to “secure” the glitters.
You don’t want to leave a glittery trail as you walk around.

This is a great tutorial if you need sparkly shoes of any color for a costume.

You could make  a pair for a 30’s era costume.
If you use black glitters, it could be some nice shoes for a lady vampire costume.

And here’s another great tutorial from the Craftster forums to make shoes with real sequins instead of glitters.

Oh, the possibilities!

1 Response to “Halloween serie: How to make sparkly shoes”


  1. 1 ni October 31, 2009 at 5:52 pm

    Wow! So cool, halloween/Dorothy shoes!
    sparkling on!


Leave a Reply

Art vs Craft.net is the blog where arts & crafts are no longer fighting!
It's about illustration, crafts & related events.

My name is Fanie and I’m a Montreal based illustrator & graphic designer. You may know me from drawing The Crafty Life comic in CLM. I ♥ comics, vegan food & ghost stories.

Add to Google
Bookmark and Share

My Flickr

BD_2016

12167071_10153690932594402_1751647734_n

More Photos

