Book review: Made from scratch

I recently read Jenna Woginrich’s Made from scratch book about her experience on having a small homestead farm and got absolutely inspired to , one day, do the same. 🙂

I think I’ve been longing to do something similar for years, but never thought this could be possible since I’m working on getting a very computer-minded job. Graphic and web design, illustration… you get the idea.

But this book’s a little different. First of, Jenna is a webdesigner. And she’s giving  a little hope for us, geek folks, who secretly wish to get back to basics.

annieyay[1]

Her book is written like a novel with chapters that covers different subjects of interests such as chickens, bees or vegetables. She also adds in some personnal funny experiences and , sometimes, even sad. Her writing style is easy to read and, to get you started, she shares an amazing list of web and non-web ressources at the end of the book.

Before reading her book, I never thought I’d actually even think about getting chickens or rabbits. One cat is enough, isn’t? Now, thanks to Jenna, i’m slowly changing my mind.

If you’re curious and would like to know more about her lifestyle, here’s her blog!

2 Responses to “Book review: Made from scratch”


  1. 1 Sister Diane November 6, 2009 at 11:10 am

    This looks like a fun read! I harbor those dreams of homesteading, too. (Not sure I could actually handle the reality, but it’s nice to dream.)

    If you haven’t already read them, you might also enjoy Scott & Helen Nearing’s books, written long ago, about their adventures homesteading.

  2. 2 Fanie November 6, 2009 at 2:05 pm

    Thank you for the recommendation, Diane. 🙂 I shall look for thoses books as I am looking for more “homesteading-inspiration.”

    I’m not too sure if I could handle this either, but I’ll give a try at having vegetables, this summer.


Leave a Reply

Art vs Craft.net is the blog where arts & crafts are no longer fighting!
It's about illustration, crafts & related events.

My name is Fanie and I’m a Montreal based illustrator & graphic designer. You may know me from drawing The Crafty Life comic in CLM. I ♥ comics, vegan food & ghost stories.

Add to Google
Bookmark and Share

My Flickr


