Inspiration: Make your own fabric designs with Spoonflower

When I first heard about Spoonflower, in May 2008, they were just starting their Beta version.

Now, not only can you make your own fabric pattern, but you can also get fabrics made by other indie designers (Including doll patterns!).
I am so amazed at what they’ve done in so little time.

Here’s some fabrics design inspiration I found via their Flickr group.

By Hamburger Liebe.

By Boodilly.

By Emilyhoyt2003

From Comfort Stitching

I love the use of simple drawings on fabrics here.

By Jessey Maloney

By Rosanna Bernstein

Here’s some examples of the dolls pattern you can make via Spoonflower.

By Lois Reynold Mead

You could even make some pillows with your fabrics. I love this idea!

If you never heard of them before, you should really take some time to take a look at their website.
It is a very interesting option if you’re an illustration/designer and looking for a way to offer different products.

Gotta love the web!

3 Responses to “Inspiration: Make your own fabric designs with Spoonflower”


  1. 1 Victoria November 17, 2009 at 1:41 pm

    Thanks so much for including my fabric in your post! All of the examples are so inspiring and I adore the Beet illustrated fabric pillow!

  2. 2 loisreynoldsmead November 17, 2009 at 1:57 pm

    Thanks for including my beets-a fat quarter can go a long way!

  3. 3 Fanie November 18, 2009 at 10:15 am

    Victoria: No problems, I loved your fabric so much! It’s so colorful and, somehow, it reminds me of thoses sheets covers from the 70’s.

    Lois: Your beet pillow is awesome and I just realized we could buy it on your Etsy shop. Nice! 🙂


Leave a Reply

Art vs Craft.net is the blog where arts & crafts are no longer fighting!
It's about illustration, crafts & related events.

My name is Fanie and I’m a Montreal based illustrator & graphic designer. You may know me from drawing The Crafty Life comic in CLM. I ♥ comics, vegan food & ghost stories.

Add to Google
Bookmark and Share

My Flickr

BD_2016

12167071_10153690932594402_1751647734_n

More Photos

