Martha Stewart: Holiday Sweets review

I was looking for Matha Stewart’s special Holiday magazine with crafts, but I found this one about baking holiday treats, instead. I thought you would enjoy it as much as I did.

What I love about this issue is that they have a whole part of the magazine dedicated to Gingerbread houses making.

It’s very interesting for me because, in the Quebec culture, we don’t know much about Gingerbread houses other than this famous story and the general mainstream talk about it during the holidays.

What’s even more interesting, is that they show you different versions of the Gingerbread houses. This one is more cake-like and can be eaten.

If you’d like to know more about them, I strongly suggest you give a listen to Craftypod’s podcast about Gingerbread houses.

There’s also a big selection of different Yule log recipes. A great classic!
I’m planning on making the Gingerbread one on the far left. Yum!

Theses little cakes looks amazing! I love the pine effect it gives with the almonds. It must take some time, too. :-p

And, as usual, there is always some great recipes to please the little ones. The snowman’s hat was made with a rosted marshmallow!

I can’t wait for the kids to grow up, in my family, so they can start appreciating thoses things and build memories for the future. Come on, grow up, kids! 😉

***

I certainly won’t have time to make all theses recipes, but this is a great magazine to keep for future holiday baking. With all it’s new take on old christmas classics, it makes it a sure value.

If you’d like to get one, check out your local magazine retailer and Ebay‘s a great ressource to find recents or old issues.

2 Responses to “Martha Stewart: Holiday Sweets review”


  1. 1 geek+nerd December 18, 2009 at 12:19 pm

    I too was looking for the Holiday crafts issue, when I found this instead this year. I love it! Very handy for the future indeed. That gingerbread cake was featured in a Christmas issue a couple of years ago. I’ve wanted to try it every since, doesn’t it look delicious?

  2. 2 Fanie December 18, 2009 at 4:17 pm

    Oh, I didn’t know about that the gingerbread cake was issued in an earlier issue. It’s nice that they reprinted it! ^-^ It sure looks good!! Mmmm…! I shouls really make it some time to impress the in-laws! lol!


Leave a Reply

Art vs Craft.net is the blog where arts & crafts are no longer fighting!
It's about illustration, crafts & related events.

My name is Fanie and I’m a Montreal based illustrator & graphic designer. You may know me from drawing The Crafty Life comic in CLM. I ♥ comics, vegan food & ghost stories.

Add to Google
Bookmark and Share

My Flickr

BD_2016

12167071_10153690932594402_1751647734_n

More Photos

