Vision board afternoon

Last Sunday, I had a “Vison Board” afternoon with Pam, Valerie and some of their friends. They organized it at the place where they have their studio, Le chat des artistes.
We were set in the corridor between the studios, so it was fun to see the locals come in at Le Chat and be surprised to see a bunch of crafty people working on their vision board. :-p

I usually draw my vision board, but since there were -so- many magazines on the table, I decided that I should add some images as well, to make it more interesting.

I almost forgot how much fun it is, just to get together and talk about what we *really* want for 2010 (and the years to come).
And since you’re telling your goals to other people, it increases your chances of keeping up with them. 😉

Just for the fun factor, here’s my finished vision board (with Morgane, of course. :-p)

To give you an idea, the 2009 one is above , top right. It’s mostly drawn and there’s not much color on it.
I cut one  drawing that I liked from the 2009 version to include it on my 2010. There’s some things that I re-drew because I didn’t like the ones on the older board. Plus, I believe that by “drawing” your goal, you put more energy into it and you’re less likely to forget about it. Of course, it’s a personal preferfence.

I really like the end result, it’s a lot more colorful with the pictures. And I just love mixing pictures and drawings together.

***

You could always organize your own “Vison  Board afternoon” with some friends.
Here’s what you’ll  need:

  • Tons of old magazines/images
  • Scissors
  • Glue
  • Some cardboard or any paper size for to make the base of your board.
  • (Optionnal) Fun stickers

Cut, glue and paste the images you like on your board!

Enjoy!

7 Responses to “Vision board afternoon”


  1. 1 ABCcreativity January 11, 2010 at 4:47 pm

    looks like a fantastic afternoon!

  2. 2 studioroseflash January 11, 2010 at 9:01 pm

    t’was fun! ^_^

  3. 3 Sloane January 12, 2010 at 6:48 am

    Great idea. I made my first vision board last year. I was wondering if I should make another one…after seeing your get together I think I will have to organize an event like this myself!

  4. 4 Fanie January 12, 2010 at 10:42 am

    ABCcreativity: Yes, it was! 🙂

    Studioroseflash: Indeed! 😉

    Sloane: Oh, you should really do this! It didn’t seem to take my friends too much time to organize and it was such a rewarding activity.

  5. 5 leah January 17, 2010 at 1:16 am

    awesome! i love doing vision boards in a group. my kitties love to help me out too. 🙂

  6. 6 pam January 19, 2010 at 4:43 pm

    I am so glad to know that vision boards are apparently here to stay! I attended a group Diane hosted a few years ago and that experience is one of my favorite memories. I came away with a vision board that didn’t, for the longest time, seem to have any relevance to the question I was seeking an answer to, but it was clearly a reflection of who I am – all the parts of me! I have it up by my desk to this day knowing there are still answers to be found.

    Just wanted to let you know that your post brought back so many lovely, warm memories of that day shared with 7 other amazing women. And isn’t if fun, when the boards are shared and it is totally apparent that each board reflects it’s maker? I loved that most of all.

  7. 7 Fanie January 20, 2010 at 1:21 pm

    @ Leah, I’m more than glad that you liked this post. 🙂

    @Pam, with “The Secret” that came out a couple/few years ago, I think it helped for a resurgence of the vision board. One of my friend swears by this. 🙂

    We were talking so much while doing it that most of us didn’t finish it on time. :-p But, while talking, we mentionned our goals and helped each others for finding images. It’s so much better to do it “in group”.


Leave a Reply

Art vs Craft.net is the blog where arts & crafts are no longer fighting!
It's about illustration, crafts & related events.

My name is Fanie and I’m a Montreal based illustrator & graphic designer. You may know me from drawing The Crafty Life comic in CLM. I ♥ comics, vegan food & ghost stories.

Add to Google
Bookmark and Share

My Flickr

BD_2016

12167071_10153690932594402_1751647734_n

More Photos

