Magazine review: Crochet today

Since she has a column in it, I recently discovered Crochet Today via Jennifer from Craftsanity.

First off, I must say I really felt in love with the magazine’s overall design.
Most knit or crochet magazine’s design are usually a little bit too kitschy to my taste. But this one reminds me lot of Adorn’s look (Bless it’s crafty soul) and it’s got a web feeling to it.

The way they use their website as a complement to the magazine is very neat. Not only can you preview all the current projects, but there’s also a How to page where you can learn crochet and get you started. And, amazing enough, they have interesting posts on their blog!

For your viewing pleasure, here are some of my favorites projects in the current issue:

May I say it? ROBOTS! 😉 Not just one, but two, and it’s a couple! (For the Valentine’s day special, of course).

Seriously, what’s not to like about this? If I ever get married one day, I’ll seriously contemplate on making this ring box.

Theses mittens looks so comfortable and the design reminds me of some Europe winter wear look.

I dream of the day I’ll get good enough at crochet so I can make socks. I’d make a pair for him and I, of course. 😉

There is also many projects for babies and kids including this cool winter-themed amigurumi doll.

+++

Since this is a difficult time for magazines, I think it’s important to subscribe to the ones we like best if we still want to have them on the market. And it’s even more important for magazines with a niche as they have a smaller audiences then, say, Oprah.

But it’s also important for them to understand how the web work and it’s importance in our daily crafty lives. They absolutely need to see the web as an allie rather than unfair competition.

Do you have a favorite magazine on a specific subject that you’d like to share with us? Feel free to do so in the comments. 🙂

0 Responses to “Magazine review: Crochet today”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Art vs Craft.net is the blog where arts & crafts are no longer fighting!
It's about illustration, crafts & related events.

My name is Fanie and I’m a Montreal based illustrator & graphic designer. You may know me from drawing The Crafty Life comic in CLM. I ♥ comics, vegan food & ghost stories.

Add to Google
Bookmark and Share

My Flickr


