Inspiration: Postcard art swap

I’ve been very inspired Ihanna‘s postcard swap she did recently with bloggers from the art & craft community. She first mentionned this on #craftsocial via Twitter (correct me if I’m wrong, Hanna!) and she had a huge success witth this.

Here are some of my favorites that I found on the DIY Postcard Swap Flickr group:

By Prismtrail
Ah, the birds. Gotta love birds! I really enjoy the soft colors and wonder how the artist did the background effect. It really is neat.

From CarliniFed
This is one great and different idea. Not to mention it makes one comfy postcard!

From Heather Kirtland.
Lots of lovely stamps here and I adore the use of crayons/colors over the images and text. It changes the mood a lot.

From Lillamanda
Once again, you know how much I have a thing for mixed-medias, this one being fabric, embroidery & paper. How come I never do this? :-p

From Beebers31
You can’t go wring with a Peter Pan quote! 😉 I love the mix of thoses vintage images.

From Olive Nabya
This one’s picture isn’t great, but I really wanted to share it as I love the idea of taking old 35 mm film to create with. This is such a great idea!

From sacredgympsy
My “zen” side really likes this one. The message is very clear, here. I’d put this one right next to my computer desk. 😉

Congratulations to all who participated in the swap. I know theses takes a lot of time (Which is one of the reason why I couldn’t participate), but they are so inspiring and it’s fun to interact “for real” with the other bloggers.

If you’d like to participate in a postcard swap, Hanna suggests the postcard swaps in the Swapbot community. I never tried it, but may very well do so this year. (As soon as I manage my time better. Mmph! Shouldn’t we all? :p)

6 Responses to “Inspiration: Postcard art swap”


  1. 1 sacredgypsy February 19, 2010 at 12:44 pm

    Just wanted to thank you for your mention of my postcard here on your blog. And for featuring so many of the cards from the swap (love the knitted ones!). The swap was a lot of fun and it inspired me to join SwapBot so I could play some more. It’s a great way to connect and spread your wings a bit. Thanks again!
    Deb

  2. 2 Tracey (beebers31) February 19, 2010 at 6:23 pm

    HI-
    Thanks for showing-off my postcard! This was my first time in a swap and was a little nervous about “sharing” my art. This swap was great because it pushed me to create and to have fun. I was so excited that I ran out and bought Good Mail Day by Carolee Gilligan Wheeler. I think there will be more artful postcards in the near future!

  3. 4 Amanda February 19, 2010 at 11:02 pm

    aawww thanks for bragging about my cards 🙂 haha
    Seriously I had so much fun making them… as making things for everyone else is usually what I end up doing.. and I LOVe sending out mail. This was the first swap or anything of the sort I’ve ever done. Can’t wait to do another! Next time I hope you will join too!

  4. 5 Fanie February 20, 2010 at 1:58 pm

    Sacredgypsy: It’s always my pleasure to feature art made by other artists. 🙂 I can’t wait to have some time to join swapbot, I really like the postcard art idea.

    Tracey: Oh, I never heard about that book by Carolee Giligan Wheeler. I will check it out for sure! Thank you! 🙂
    I think we’re all a little nervous about sharing our art on the web AND with others, at first. There’s the fear of having our art stolen and the whole copyrights thing (which is quite important, of course.). But, so far, I’ve only had good responses when I choose to share what I am doing with others. Not only does it inspire you, but it also inspire others. 🙂

    Amanda: Yes, I really hope to join at least one postcard art swap, this year. *writes on to-do list*
    For your first swap, the result is very good! Congrats! ^-^

  5. 6 iHanna March 3, 2010 at 3:09 am

    Fanie, you’re correct about me mentioning at the #craftsocial on twitter and swapping being lots of fun and some work. The neat thing about swap-bot is you can find small swaps there, one to one for example, a bit more managable if you’ve got less time to swap than making 10 postcards. 🙂

    Love your look through the postcard pool and showing these cards, all of them are SO cool and your comments great too. Thanks! You’re in next time girl!


Leave a Reply

Art vs Craft.net is the blog where arts & crafts are no longer fighting!
It's about illustration, crafts & related events.

My name is Fanie and I’m a Montreal based illustrator & graphic designer. You may know me from drawing The Crafty Life comic in CLM. I ♥ comics, vegan food & ghost stories.

Add to Google
Bookmark and Share

My Flickr


