Book review: The colored pencil by Bet Borgeson

I found this book on a blogger’s favorite books links, last week. I’m not too sure, but I think it’s Tracey. (Correct me if I’m wrong!)
I always love when bloggers shares their favorites books and/or ressources as it always leads me to some interesting discoveries. The colored pencil by Bet Borgeson is certainly one of them.

There is a lot of interesting explanations and text in this book. It shows that the author has a great knowledge of this medium and is willing to share all she knows about it. Even thought I have been using colored pencils since I was a kid, I found it very interesting to see this medium in a different way. I think I’ve been taking colored pencils for “granted” and should have really put more time into learning how to use them well.

Mmm... cholocates drawing made with colored pencil

This drawing had me almost drooling! Can you believe this was made -only- with colored pencils? No photoshop or whatsoever technology! Good ol’ pencils and a lot of patience.
Because that’s the thing with this medium, even thought it can give great results, it does require some time to get what you want. But they are up to it.  And when you think about it, doesn’t every medium requires some time before getting a result you like?

Bet Borgeson also shows some very interesting techniques and ways to use it while creating different effects. I love the part where she explains how the colored pencil is actually translucide, just like watercolors. For some reasons, it didn’t occured to me that I could work it in this way. To juxtapose different colors so I could get a new one. To actually think before taking that black pencil. Perhaps I could use different colors to do an even more interesting one. It opened a door  and made me think a lot about the medium.

It seems like Bet and I share a mutual love for black cats. 😉 It’s funny how all black cats looks the same! Big round and expressive eyes, this could almost be Morgane!

Now, here’s my take on it. I must say that this is a small about 3″ x 3″ drawing and that it is a first test.
This is a character I’ve made for a graphic novel story I’ve had this in mind for some time. I’m planning to finally start seriously and finish it, this year. I wish I had the time to make the entire comic in colored pencil, but I don’t think it will be possible with the time I have.
But I may just make some special prints. That, I could do. 🙂

Now that I wrote about this project, this will motivate me about actually doing it. Yep!  😉

Now, go grab that old colored pencil suitcase of yours you’ve had since high school and start exploring with it a little. And don’t forget to show us your work!

2 Responses to “Book review: The colored pencil by Bet Borgeson”


  1. 1 pam March 4, 2010 at 3:01 pm

    Thank you so, so much for the review! I definitely must get my hands on a copy of this book!

    I haven’t touched colored pencils in – well a LOT – of years! Until, that is, I picked up some we had left from photo retouching days and tried using them to make designs on my gourds. I find I quite like working with them. But “I know nothing!” This book will be a huge help.

    THANK YOU!

  2. 2 Fanie March 9, 2010 at 2:58 pm

    You are very welcome, Pam. 🙂
    I thought I knew some things about colored pencils when, in reality, I didn’t know much.
    Make sure to show us when you’ll try it again! ^-^


Leave a Reply

Art vs Craft.net is the blog where arts & crafts are no longer fighting!
It's about illustration, crafts & related events.

My name is Fanie and I’m a Montreal based illustrator & graphic designer. You may know me from drawing The Crafty Life comic in CLM. I ♥ comics, vegan food & ghost stories.

Add to Google
Bookmark and Share

My Flickr


