Inspiration: Think less and feel more!

Oh, spark of creativity… where art thou?

… or how to listen to my right brain.

Since the beggining of 2010, I’ve been ongoing into a creative process. I didn’t notice this until recently. I don’t know about you but, for me, I  realized that I do a lot of thinking and have a tendancy to ratialize everything.
For examples: the life-changing decisions I make, the work I choose, the projects that get done… all of theses have been controlled by my left side brain. My rational and logical mind.

For some people, this seems to work out fine without questionning themselves too much. (At least, in the moment.) But, the problem is that my values don’t necesseraly work with theses statements.

Since I wishes to make a living in a creative field, I need to be much more closer to the right brain: intuitivity, imagination, feelings…

I wish to experience more with art and judge it less.  

If  you’d like to, join me in this promess you make to yourself. 

Here are some good books, that I recently read, to start or continue your creative journey:


  • Women who run with the wolves
    By Clarissa Pinkola Estés
    (From Publishers weekly) Folklore, fairy tales and dream symbols are called on to help restore women’s neglected intuitive and instinctive abilities in this earthy first book by a Jungian analyst. According to Estes, wolves and women share a psychic bond in their fierceness, grace and devotion to mate and community. This comparison defines the archetype of the Wild Woman, a female in touch with her primitive side and able to rely on gut feelings to make choices.
  • Succulent Wild Women
    By SARK
    (From Library Journal) SARK, an author, artist, and incest survivor with many years of therapy and self-healing behind her, wishes to shine her “beacon of hope to the world” as she encourages and inspires women of all ages to become “succulent.” She defines this as transcending past pains and feeling the freedom of full self-expression.

Even thought theses two books are very differents from each others, they both share similar messages about freedom and creativity for women.

I know they have been around for awhile, but I guess I wasn’t ready to listen to their message until recently. 😉

Please, let me know if you enjoyed them or feel free to share  more creative ressources for people, like me, who are starting a creative journey!

0 Responses to “Inspiration: Think less and feel more!”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Art vs Craft.net is the blog where arts & crafts are no longer fighting!
It's about illustration, crafts & related events.

My name is Fanie and I’m a Montreal based illustrator & graphic designer. You may know me from drawing The Crafty Life comic in CLM. I ♥ comics, vegan food & ghost stories.

Add to Google
Bookmark and Share

My Flickr

BD_2016

12167071_10153690932594402_1751647734_n

More Photos

