Illustrations for the “Privilège de roi” novel


I really have to share this. 🙂

This summer, I did 6 illustrations for the Privilège de roi fantasy novel by Anne Robillard and Martial Grisé. And it’s just been published!
Like they say: Woot!

Anne Robillard is a famous fantasy author in Quebec. She sold about 1 million of copies of her serie, Les chevaliers d’Émeraude (Knights of Emerald) in Canada and she now is selling them in France, as well. Her serie is getting well-known over there, too. They even call her “The J-K Rowling of Quebec”. Nice!

The novel I did the illustrations for was written by Martial Grisé and Anne Robillard supported him through the process as it is the prologue of Les chevaliers d’Émeraude. It’s a story the die-hard fans wanted to read for a very long time. Martial has a great knowledge and is a great storyteller of all things fantasy. So it’s no wonder Anne Trusted him into writing this very important book. It’s his first book published and certainly not the last. 

I had a lot of fun drawing Martial’s characters. I really love this one of Omarias, the elven mage. Even thought I had quick deadlines to draw theses illustrations, I still loved every second of drawing them. I even did some better versions with grays shades, but they were not chosen for printing reasons.

This makes me so happy. It’s the first time I’m published at such a huge print run and I am extremely grateful of Anne and Martial. Un énorme merci à vous deux!

If you’d like to get the novel (french only, for the moment!), you can get it online via the Archambault online store or at every good local bookstore. 🙂

Also, just in case you’re into medieval/fantasy/renaissance, Martial also makes amazing medieval inspired items like theses awesome leather book cover. Belts, armband, armors… he makes it all. Make sure to take a look at his website. (French only thought)
Next time I see him, I’ll let him know about Etsy. 😉

2 Responses to “Illustrations for the “Privilège de roi” novel”


  1. 1 Nin-8 April 13, 2010 at 10:43 am

    Waow, félicitations! J’adore!

  2. 2 Fanie April 14, 2010 at 1:15 pm

    Merci, Ninette! ^-^ xoxo!


Leave a Reply

Art vs Craft.net is the blog where arts & crafts are no longer fighting!
It's about illustration, crafts & related events.

My name is Fanie and I’m a Montreal based illustrator & graphic designer. You may know me from drawing The Crafty Life comic in CLM. I ♥ comics, vegan food & ghost stories.

Add to Google
Bookmark and Share

My Flickr


